Advisory Board


David BellDavid Bell

University of Stirling

Prof David Bell CBE FRSE is Professor of Economics at the University of Stirling. He is affiliated to the Centre on Constitutional Change and his research interests include the economics of social care and of subjective well-being, the Scottish economy and the economics of education.

Christina BoswellChristina Boswell

University of Edinburgh

Prof Christina Boswell FRSE FAcSS is Professor of Politics and and Dean of Research for the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Edinburgh. Her research focuses on UK and EU immigration and asylum policy, and the role of expert knowledge in politics and policymaking.

Vanessa GlynnVanessa Glynn

European Movement in Scotland

Vanessa Glynn is Past Chair of the European Movement in Scotland and Honorary Fellow of the Edinburgh Europa Institute. During her several decades in the UK civil service, she worked in the Scottish Government, the Scottish Parliament and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

David GowDavid Gow

Sceptical Scot

David Gow is Editor of, Senior Adviser at Social Europe and Senior Adviser at Acumen Public Affairs. He is former European Business Editor of The Guardian and worked for The Scotsman and London Weekend Television.

Eve HepburnEve Hepburn


Dr Eve Hepburn FRSA is Founding Director of PolicyScribe, Honorary Fellow of the Edinburgh Europa Institute, and former Senior Lecturer in Politics at the University of Edinburgh. Her research interests lie in Scottish-European relations, immigration, EU policy, and social policy.

Danuta HübnerDanuta Hübner MEP

European Parliament

Prof Danuta Hübner MEP is Chair of the European Parliament’s Committee on Constitutional Affairs and a Member of its Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs. She is an MEP for Poland and former European Commissioner for Regional Policy.

John KerrJohn Kerr

House of Lords (Independent Member)

John Kerr is an independent member (Crossbencher) of the House of Lords, where he sits on its Economic Affairs Committee, and Vice Chairman of Scottish Power. He was previously the UK’s Permanent Representative to the EU and Ambassador to the United States.

Barbara LippertBarbara Lippert

Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik

Dr Barbara Lippert is Director of Research at the Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP). Her research focuses on EU enlargement policy, its implications for European Union and Germany’s approach to European affairs.

Tobias LockTobias Lock

Maynooth University

Prof Tobias Lock is Professor of Law at the National University of Ireland Maynooth. His research focuses on the EU’s multilevel relations with other legal orders, including the European Convention on Human Rights.

David MartinDavid Martin

Citizens’ Assembly

David Martin is Co-convener of the Scottish constitutional Citizens’ Assembly. He was a Member of the European Parliament and on its Committee on International Trade and MEP for Scotland. He was Vice President of the European Parliament from 1989 to 2004 and was the UK’s longest-serving MEP.

Liz McAreaveyLiz McAreavey

Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce

Liz McAreavey is Chief Executive of the Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce. She previously had an entrepreneurial career spanning 16 years, founding Scotland’s largest independent hospitality company until successful merger. She also held leadership roles at Deloitte and Ernst & Young.

Giles MerrittGiles Merritt

Friends of Europe

Giles Merritt is founder and Chairman of the think tank Friends of Europe and its policy journal, Europe’s World. He was foreign correspondent for the Financial Times for fifteen years and was subsequently an International Herald Tribune op-ed columnist on EU affairs for twenty years.

Drew ScottDrew Scott

University of Edinburgh

Prof Drew Scott FAcSS is Professor of European Union Studies and Co-Director of the Edinburgh Europa Institute at the University of Edinburgh. An economist by training, he specialises in European economic integration, including subsidiarity and Economic and Monetary Union.

Anton MuscatelliAnton Muscatelli

University of Glasgow

Prof Sir Anton Muscatelli FRSE FRSA FAcSS is Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Glasgow and Chair of the First Minister of Scotland’s Standing Council on Europe. An economist, his research interests include monetary economics, fiscal policy, finance and macroeconomics.

Alyn SmithAlyn Smith MP

House of Commons

Alyn Smith is MP for Stirling. He is shadow SNP Spokesperson (Foreign and Commonwealth Office). Formerly he was a Member of the European Parliament from 2004 to 2019.

Uta StaigerUta Staiger

University College London

Dr Uta Staiger FRSA is co-founder and Executive Director of the UCL European Institute, and UCL Pro-Vice-Provost (Europe). Her main research interests, spanning 20th century European thought, history and EU politics, are broadly on the relationships between culture and politics.

Fabian ZuleegFabian Zuleeg

European Policy Centre

Dr Fabian Zuleeg is Chief Executive and Chief Economist of the European Policy Centre. He has worked as an economic analyst in academia and the public and private sectors. He is Honorary Fellow of the Edinburgh Europa Institute and Honorary Professor at Heriot-Watt University.